The Drama Queen’s Servant Heart

I say the title of this post kind of tongue and cheek because although I do affectionately call her a “Drama Queen” around the house, I know that deep down she truly has a servant’s heart. I speak of my oldest here, who has over and over again impressed me and shown me what a true servant she can be, allowing God to use her through her love for theater and performing arts.

As parents, my wife and I have always encouraged our kids to find an area to serve in our church. My wife and I both believe strongly that God has given each of us gifts, abilities, talents and passions of our heart, that He can use for His glory and to build up the church body. In other words, find an area that you think you can contribute in, and get involved.

Over the past couple of years, I’ve watched my oldest flourish and just take off. As a teenager she started out getting involved in our children’s ministry. This soon morphed into involvement in a children’s ministry worship team. In this ministry I was blessed to watch her lead the young kids in praise and worship of our Lord. I watched her blossom into a leader, being relied on and depended on by the adult leadership of the group. What a great joy and thrill it was for her to be recognized for her leadership and willingness to stepup. Now, her service in our children’s ministry has grown into her role as what we call a “Large Group Leader”, which is responsible for the worship and teaching of a large group of kids. This role involves music, theater, leadership, teaching, her outgoing personality, and her overall love for kids. You can’t imagine the joy I feel when watching her use her gifts. I am truly amazed and blessed.

Now, as we approach Christmas, I will have the privilege and thrill of watching her use her gifts to bless those who attend our Christmas Eve services. She is a dancer and angel in our Christmas Eve service. She has been hard at work for a couple of months already leading up to this. I look forward to being able to see her do her thing. The unfortunate thing is that I won’t get to watch it as it happens, I’ll have to watch it via video. That’s because I will have the joy of being on the same stage, at the same time with her. Not dancing or acting, but doing my thing.

Leave a Reply

