Memorial Day Thoughts

Finally, Memorial Day Weekend is here! Even though I will probably have to work some over the weekend, it’s nice that I have one extra day to be home with the family and not have to go into the office. So, at some point this weekend, I’m sure we’ll be relaxing by the pool or in the pool, maybe going to see a movie and cooking some burgers and hot dogs on the grill. Basically, doing as much relaxing, playing around, eating and celebrating as we can. But, as I thought about it, I had to ask myself, what are we celebrating?

I, like just about everybody, was getting caught up in the thought of this being just a fun weekend. The reality is, it is so much more than that. My thoughts now turn to, “why am I able to have so much fun this weekend?” Who makes it possible for us to enjoy spending time with friends and family over the next few days? My thoughts have now turned to the those that have served, fought for, been wounded for, and died for, this great country of ours. Yes, the real reason for Memorial Day Weekend is not for us to just have fun, relax and enjoy ourselves, but to remember those that have made it possible for us to have the freedom to celebrate this weekend.

In these next few lines I want to remember and pay tribute to all those that have served in the different branches of the Armed Services. Thanks to those that have gone before us, and fought for, and in many cases died for the freedoms that we enjoy today. And, thanks to those that serve today, standing guard, protecting and fighting for our freedoms.

I pay tribute to my deceased father, who, in his day, served in the Army during World War II. He was a paratrooper in the 82nd Airborne. He fought and was wounded for our country. In all my life, until now, I’ve never taken the time to think about his contribution to the freedoms we have today. So, even though he’s been gone for many years, I honor him and say THANK YOU!

I say thank you to my brother, who served in the Air Force in the late 1960’s and early 1970’s. I thank him for his willingness to serve and defend our country.

Now, I have a nephew serving in the Navy. And, I want to make sure and thank him for his service. Even though he’s early in his career there, I appreciate him none the less.

So, this weekend, while you’re celebrating with your family and friends, enjoying yourself, having a good time, at the pool, on your boat, taking a trip, having a big juicy burger or steak, or whatever, take the time to remember who’s made it possible for you to have the freedom to do so. Remember those that have sacrificed greatly for you to enjoy yourself. If you take the time to do so, you may find yourself more appreciative for this weekend than ever before and you may enjoy yourself more than you ever have.

As an added extra, I heard this on the radio today and it sent chills up and down my spine. I think it’s a good reminder of why the members of our Armed Services are willing to sacrifice all for our country.

Have a great Memorial Day!

Leave a Reply

