Tribute To Momma Jane

I want to take this time to celebrate the life and pay tribute to the woman that I came to call Momma Jane. Momma Jane was my mother-in-law. I was blessed enough to know her for 14 years, before she went home to be with the Lord about 10 years ago. I know, when you think of in-laws, you think, oh no, the in-laws. But, she didn’t fit the stereotype.

Momma Jane from the day I met her was always a fun-loving person. She was full of life, energy and always had a positive outlook on life. She always treated me with respect, kindness and like another son. I appreciated how she eagerly welcomed me into the family when Denise and I got married. I especially appreciated, and still laugh hysterically, at how she wanted to talk to me in private, to make sure I knew what I was getting into, when Denise and I announced our engagement. She knew her daughter all too well. And I quickly learned what she meant. Just kidding, just kidding.

That brings me to what I’m most appreciative of regarding my mother-in-law. And that is that she raised her daughter, who is my wife, very well. I thank her for the love and support she always gave my wife. She was an encouraging individual, and wore her pride, she had in her daughter, on her sleeve. Because of a lady like her, I have the wonderful wife that I have.

I have the typical regrets, when it comes to life, and how short it can be, like my kids not getting to know her any better than they did and vice versa. Me not having a longer time to know her, and my wife not able to have her Mom around anymore. But, we have to move forward in faith and find joy in the fact that we will see her again, for my wife had the privilege of leading her Mom, my Momma Jane, into a relationship with Jesus Christ, near the end of her life.

So, this is a tribute to Momma Jane. I celebrate your life, and say, Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

